Vanilla 1.1.9 is a product of Lussumo. More Information: Documentation, Community Support.

• CommentAuthorMileHigh
    • CommentTimeApr 13th 2010

Well I thought that it would be worth it to make a new thread for tech talk about the Orbos of any flavour. Other tech threads have been overwhelmed by idle chatter so I am requesting this be a tech thread only. Otherwise the beatings resume at 5:00 AM.

Just to comment on Al showing 10 milliwatts of dissipation on Orbette 2.0, I think it was at 600 RPM? Al please correct me if I am wrong. That's 10 milliwatts of power to overcome bearing and air friction.

By the way Al I love your strip chart recorder. It's refreshingly non digital.

Then Al speculated perhaps only a single milliwatt for the Steorn version because of the better bearings. To me it sounds a bit low but I have no real experience playing with this stuff. As a reminder, this is power poured down the drain in the form of heat and does nothing useful.

You can easily conclude that the Steorn Orbo is incredibly inefficient because it consumes about five (?) watts of electrical energy based on the post Steorn demo analysis done by the folks around here.

It's worth it to take a low-valued resistor and a variable power supply and do a simple experiment. Put the resistor between your thumb and forefinger and hold it tightly. Then dial-up 1/4 watt, 1/2 watt, and one watt of power dissipation in the resistor and feel it to get a sense of how much heat power it represents. Each time you have to hold the resistor tightly for say 30 seconds for the thumb/resistor/finger system to reach thermal equilibrium. It just gives you a sense of how much power a watt really is.