Vanilla 1.1.9 is a product of Lussumo. More Information: Documentation, Community Support.

•  
      CommentAuthorTrim
    • CommentTimeMar 6th 2011 edited

•  
      CommentAuthorLoonyman

The paper....

http://journalofcosmology.com/Life100.html

Exciting stuff. I'm just a bit dubious about the whole "review by jury" system, but let's hope it's a bit more
    Transparent than Steorns!!
    •  
      CommentAuthorlegendre
    • CommentTimeMar 6th 2011

Interesting prospects to be sure, but needs to be approached with skepticism.

Certainly looking forward to the review / analysis.
    •  
      CommentAuthorLoonyman

After a read of the paper, it seems better than I thought, of course I am no expert in microbiology, however the facts that this is from a respected NASA scientist, and they have released the paper to the whole scientific community, where every relevant expert will be trying to pick it to pieces, seem like green flags to me....

"3.2 Images and EDS Spectra of Filaments in the Orgueil CI1 Carbonaceous Meteorite. Figure 2.a. is a low magnification (1000X) Secondary Electron Detector (SED) FESEM image of freshly fractured fragment of the Orgueil CI1 meteorite that is densely populated with several different types of embedded filaments and electron transparent sheaths. Even though the field of view shown of this image is very small (~120 μm wide) a wide variety of diverse filamentous microstructures are present.."

It also fits with my personal theory that everywhere it can, life will... so I like it!!!!
    • CommentAuthortinker

Are we sure that this meteorite is not made from fossil cheese? Perhaps from the moon? Or even from some hapless teenager's shelf in the fridge?
    •  
      CommentAuthorDuracell

Jesus did it (for the lulz of course)!
    •  
      CommentAuthorLoonyman

http://cosmiclog.msnbc.msn.com/_news/2011/03/05/6198177-life-in-meteorites-study-stirs-debate