Vanilla 1.1.9 is a product of Lussumo. More Information: Documentation, Community Support.

•  
      CommentAuthorDuracell
    • CommentTimeApr 23rd 2015 edited

I would like to use a drone with a camera to inspect the interior surfaces of some tanks. The tanks are up to 40 metres high, between 5 and 6 metres in diameter, and there are usually no interior obstacles within them that would need to avoided when flying.

I have no experience at all of flying drones, or remote planes, or remote helicopters etc., so I would be looking for something that is very easy to fly, keep stable, and land. It would mostly just be required to move straight up, then maybe rotate 360 degress while recording some HD footage (and / or taking some photos), and then move back down again to land.

I would be willing to spend up to around 1,500 Euro on a drone + camera. Would the resident drone enthusiasts in the 'trap be willing to recommend any particular models for me to consider? Please? Pretty please? Thanks!
    What ever happened to sending a bloke up on a ladder to have a look-see?
    •  
      CommentAuthorAngus

Whew! Forty metres high and six in diameter? That sounds more like a chimney than a tank. Will you be content just to hover over the top? It will be really difficult to control the drone if you can't see it, and even harder if the tank walls don't transmit the usual 2.4 GHz (and most solid things don't very well. It's the WiFi frequency.) I doubt you could organize a drone to descend and return autonomously using air pressure and GPS (assuming it can even see any satellites).

The Parrot 2.0 quad costs within your budget. It does have a downward looking camera that can do station keeping based on what it sees down there. That might be one possibility, though there would be range issues (which could be overcome, I think).